Not Granted

For all
that is in my heart …
there are no words
… big enough …
…… strong enough …
……… deep enough
to hold all you mean to me.

I can only say
… I miss you …
…… I want you …

……… I love you

Miss…

does not bear
how lost I feel
when I cannot
… see you
…… find you

Want…

does not endure
how my body aches
when I cannot
… touch you
…… kiss you

Love…

does not possess
the full meaning
of this … connection
… this … tether …

a pull so … strong …
it threatens to tear … my core … from me

You have become part of me … so fast …
I feel I’ve lost my balance.

There is so much I want with you.

My fear…
that I’m fooling myself
… that I’ve been fooled by you.

My hope…
you feel the same things
… you have the same fears.

But if I believe
even for …one moment …
that what we are
is being taken for
… granted…

that there is no need
… to flirt or flatter
… to play or please

… to try …

that thought
… takes my breath away…
frightens me more … than all else.

Do you need to hear how
… beautiful …
you are to me?

How the thought
… of your eyes
… of your smile…

makes my heart swell?

How the thought
… of your touch
… of your kiss….
makes my body shiver?

That who you are …
calms … and excites me
all at once?

That I want always …
to make you smile?
…to hear you laugh?
……to see the love in your eyes?

If you don’t…

I would end this now
rather that …
than see … this …
die a slow death;

drowned…
in a sea of assumptions

wither…
in a desert of neglect…

for Love
… like a garden
…… should be tended

… because …

Life
… grows wild
…… like weeds

…and … nothing … is granted.

© KJ Miller 2010

Leave a comment